We’ve all heard at least one myth about IT technology, usually from a friend who read something online or heard it from someone else, but they’re never backed up with facts or actual proof.
We’ve gathered 5 of the top myths about IT Technology and explained why they’re wrong.
1. Private/Incognito browsing mode keeps your activity online hidden
If you’ve ever wanted to hide your browsing history, you’ve probably used a privacy option in your browser, either on your PC or phone such as: Private Tab, Incognito Mode, InPrivate Browsing, Private Window or Private Browsing.
These tools may prevent others seeing your browsing history after you’ve used the computer, but they won’t prevent your work, Internet Service Provider or sites you visit, from tracking you.
Going Incognito only means the browser won’t save cookies, temporary internet files, or your browsing history.
So, be careful what websites you go on in private mode.
2. You must safely remove the USB from your PC
One of the most common IT myths – don’t remove your USB stick without clicking ‘Safely Remove USB’, otherwise your USB will get corrupted and lose everything.
However, if you’re not reading or writing data to your USB, there shouldn’t be a problem with taking it out.
Clicking on ‘Safely Remove Hardware’ is to ensure there’s no active data being transferred to your USB and that your changes have been saved – there’s around a 0.5 second delay after you’ve made changes, so if you wait half a second before removing your USB, you should be fine.
3. An Antivirus can protect your PC from all viruses
Antivirus software can protect your computer, but it can’t protect you from everything, especially human error.
Antivirus software is just that, software – therefore if new viruses have been released, your antivirus may not know about them, or if you’ve downloaded something and allowed it full access to your PC, your antivirus may fall short.
You should always take precautions with your computer’s security – make sure you double check what you’re downloading and have a back up of your data, just in case.
4. Apple Macs don’t get viruses
Any computer is susceptible to viruses, so make sure you keep them protected.
5. Emptying the Recycle Bin removes your files permanently
When you empty your recycling bin, your files are simply marked as deleted to free up space. The data is still in your computer, waiting to be overwritten by new data.
Therefore, your deleted files could potentially be recovered with a file recovery tool, (as long as your data hasn’t already been overwritten), which is incredibly useful if you accidentally delete something.
How can we help?
We are a Managed Service Provider in Milton Keynes, providing businesses with IT support and managed services. Our IT solutions and services are designed to connect people and their organisations effectively, increase productivity and provide efficiency.
If you have any questions about IT Myths, or would like to know more about our services, please contact our sales team on 03300 949 420, or get in touch my clicking the link below and we'd be happy to help.